more from Brad W. Hooker

Single Idea 20885

[catalogued under 25. Social Practice / F. Life Issues / 2. Euthanasia]

Full Idea

Six types of euthanasia: 1) Active voluntary (knowing my wishes), 2) Active non-voluntary (not knowing my wishes), 3) Active involuntary (against my wishes), 4) Passive voluntary, 5) Passive non-voluntary, 6) Passive involuntary.

Gist of Idea

Euthanasia is active or passive, and voluntary, non-voluntary or involuntary


Brad W. Hooker (Rule Utilitarianism and Euthanasia [1997], 5)

Book Reference

'Ethics in Practice (2nd Ed)', ed/tr. LaFollette,Hugh [Blackwell 2002], p.26

A Reaction

'Active' is intervening, and 'passive' is not intervening. A helpful framework.